I’m Judging Mairtin Crawford Short Story Award

The Mairtin Crawford Awards for Poetry and Short Story 2021 open now.

This year marks the fifth year of the Poetry Year and the fourth year of for the Short Story Award.

The Awards are aimed at writers working towards their first full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel. Both published and unpublished writers are invited to submit between 3-5 poems for the poetry award, and a short story of up to 2,500 words for the short story award, with the only stipulation being that they have not yet published a full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel.

The closing date for work is midnight on Sunday 2nd May 2021 (GMT).

For more information about submitting your work click here.

The Winners of each Award will receive a Cash Prize of £1,000 and a 5-night stay at The River Mill Writing Retreat.

The 2 Runners Up for each Award will receive a cash prize of £250.

We are delighted to announce that the judges of the 2021 Mairtín Crawford Award are Lucy Caldwell (Chair – Short Story) and Moyra Donaldson (Chair – Poetry). Guest judges Annemarie Ní Churreáin and me.

Click here for more information about the judges.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.